PageSpeed agency

Fast websites
are more successful.

53% of users leave a website if it takes longer than 3 seconds to load.

Analysis and advice on Google PageSpeed, loading times and Core Web Vitals.

Benefits of a particularly short loading time

High online sales

A well-known study has determined that a website that is just one second slower corresponds to a drop in the conversion rate of a whopping 7%. A fast website is therefore essential for successful lead generation and online sales.

Top Google Rankings

Google officially confirmed back in 2010 that the PageSpeed Score is an important ranking factor. The top ranking pages often have a particularly short server response time. Since June 2021, Core Web Vitals have also been evaluated in the Google ranking.

Low bounce rate

A fast loading time results in a low bounce rate and satisfied users who return and make repeat purchases. A comprehensive and effective performance optimization can significantly reduce the bounce rate.

Best user experience

A short loading time is an important prerequisite for a good user experience (UX). UX signals are considered an important ranking factor by Google. Due to the steadily increasing use of smartphones in mobile networks, as little data as possible should be transmitted to ensure good performance.

Common causes of poor website performance

External services

Tracking, live chats, integration of external ratings, Google Maps maps, CRM forms and many other third-party services often ensure that websites become slower and slower during operation. In most cases, new services are continuously integrated without paying attention to the loading time, the UX and the Google PageSpeed Score of the individual websites.

Uncompressed media

In particular, images in old and uncompressed image formats, which have also not been adapted for different screen resolutions, are a frequent cause of performance problems. Modern image formats such as WebP or AVIF combine very high compression rates with very good image quality.

Non-optimized script resources

JavaScript and CSS files are often not compressed and summarized. A lot of websites have a variety of such resources. By combining and compressing such files, the requests can often be reduced enormously, which in turn leads to a significantly lower overall loading time and a better user experience.

Old PHP and HTTP version

Especially websites that have been online for many years often use an outdated PHP version (< PHP 8) or an old HTTP protocol (HTTP/1.1). By updating this technical server infrastructure, a significant improvement in performance can be achieved for site visitors.

Missing or poorly configured website caching

If all pages of a website are always generated dynamically when the user calls up the page, then the loading time is considerably longer than if all pages are already preloaded as a static HTML version on the server. A well-configured cache ensures a short server response time (TTFB / Time To First Byte).

Missing text compression

Text-based resources (e.g. web documents) should be provided in compressed form in order to minimize the total number of bytes. This is often not the case for all resources. Brotli is the most efficient. GZIP should be used as a fallback for Brotli. GZIP is supported by all common browsers. Text compression is activated in the configuration of the web server.

PageSpeed optimization: Optimal process for a fast website

01

Analysis

Comprehensive measurement of website loading times, derivation and prioritization of optimization measures.

02

Specification

Specification of the measures and entry of tickets in the ticket system for the implementing developers.

03

Optimization

Implementation of the necessary optimizations by the developers and acceptance of the implementation.

04

Monitoring

Continuous monitoring and reporting of the loading time and, if necessary, re-optimization of the website.

Load time optimization: Professional page speed consulting

What is achieved through short loading times

Contact PageSpeed agency

Ansprechpartner der PageSpeed-Agentur: PageSpeed Consultant Christian Schreiber
Christian Schreiber, Page Speed Consultant
Articles on the topic of website load time
Frequently asked performance questions explained clearly

A good
mobile
score is achieved from a value of 90/100.

How complex it is to optimize loading times to achieve such a good score depends on many factors, for example: Server hardware, number and media format of the page elements (texts, images, videos), number of externally integrated scripts and much more. The Core Web Vital user data from the Google CrUX dataset is much more important than optimizing the score.

The Google PageSpeed Score is often mistakenly equated with the loading time. However, this is measured in seconds and must also be taken into account when optimizing performance. A high Google PageSpeed Score does not necessarily always correlate with a short loading time.

There are many optimization measures for improving website performance, Google PageSpeed Score and Core Web Vitals, all of which contribute to both short loading times and a better user experience with the respective website.

The following list is only an excerpt of potential improvements:

  • High-performance hosting
  • Compression, summarization and outsourcing of JavaScript and CSS code
  • Removal of unused scripts
  • Provision of resources (CSS, JS) for different types of applications. Page types/templates
  • Provide Critical Path CSS for the immediately visible area of the page
  • Eliminate render blocking JS and CSS
  • Activate HTML compression and remove HTML comments
  • Optimize HTML DOM, avoid deep nesting of elements
  • Asynchronous loading of JavaScript code (async / defer)
  • Use of the HTTP/2 protocol to be able to load more resources in parallel
  • Activate website caching
  • Use browser caching
  • Use GZIP compression
  • Compress images
  • Image dimensioning (provision of images without scaling)
  • Set image sizes for all images
  • Provide WebP format for images and fallback on the server
  • Lazy loading for images, videos and iframes
  • Provide video formats for animated content
  • Text visibility during the loading process
  • Use passive listeners
  • Reduce external scripts
  • Use of fast server hardware
  • Use of a CDN (Content Delivery Network) for fast international availability
The status quo must always be determined before optimization. An audit should be created for this purpose, from which the corresponding todos are then derived. A comprehensive consultation with a specialized PageSpeed agency always brings to light many potentials that are recommended for a fast website.

Web pages should be fully loaded in less than 3 seconds to be considered a good loading time. If a page takes more than 5 seconds to load, this inevitably leads to an increased bounce rate and a poor user experience. This then results in a slump in sales and poor lead rates.

The Google PageSpeed Score is not a ranking factor, but the Core Web Vitals (LCP, FID, CLS) are. Google measures the Core Web Vitals (CWV) by users of the Chrome browser. This
field data determined by Google
are important for the SEO ranking. The CWV of the last 28 days are included in the page experience as a ranking factor in the Google ranking. In addition to the CWV, mobile-friendliness, security and the correct handling of dialog fields are also important.

In addition, a short loading time increases user satisfaction, ensures more sales and fewer bounces. The optimization of Google PageSpeed, Web Vitals and loading times is therefore a very important topic both for a good user experience (UX) and for search engine optimization (SEO).

A consultation on load time optimization always begins with an initial, non-binding initial discussion. This allows, for example, the project goals, the timeline for improving speed and the roles in the project to be clarified.

The next step is a comprehensive audit for each page template/page type in order to identify all potential for speeding up the pages. The findings from the audit are then usually presented to the technical manager and the development team. Through the joint exchange, initial questions about the feasibility of the measures can be clarified straight away.

Some potential improvements require detailed specification. This is usually either incorporated into an (SEO) concept or the specification is made directly within tickets for agile implementation by the web developers. 

The ticket system (often Atlassian Jira, Redmine, etc.) can then be used by the developers to ask questions before or during implementation. The web performance specialist can also confirm the successful implementation of the individual tickets via the system.

To ensure that performance does not deteriorate again after the initial optimization, it is always advisable to use a web performance monitoring system.

Page performance should be monitored using a Real User Monitoring (RUM) tool, as this allows individual user sessions to be recorded in real time. These are then stored anonymously in sessions so that data protection regulations are complied with and users cannot be traced. Personal data is not collected with this type of tracking.

Google collects real user data via the Chrome browser to evaluate the loading speed. The metrics LCP (Largest Contentful Paint), FID (First Input Delay) and CLS (Cumulative Layout Shift) are recorded. However, this data is stored in aggregated form, which is why the individual user experience can no longer be evaluated (e.g. a single access from a distant country and a mobile data network).

The data is publicly accessible to everyone, but is delivered with a delay of 28 days. The user experience can be viewed, for example, in the Google PageSpeed Insights field data report, can be accessed via a Google API and can also be viewed in the Google Search Console. In order to retrieve this information for your own website, you need a certain number of hits. Otherwise, either no data or only data for the domain origin (usually the start page) is available.

So if you only rely on the Chrome User Experience Report (CrUX) in your own monitoring, you can only react very late to a poor user experience. Nevertheless, CrUX data is important because it has an impact on ranking success.

Individual queries and evaluation of the laboratory data (synthetic measurements) from Google PageSpeed Insights do not represent meaningful monitoring of the loading time. These are user simulations, which is why this type of measurement is useful for staging instances and during the optimization of loading times, but not during operation.

New Client Special Offer
Aenean leo ligulaconsequat vitae, eleifend acer neque sed ipsum. Nam quam nunc, blandit vel, tempus.

PageSpeed-Agentur

Schnelle Websites
sind erfolgreicher.

53% der Nutzer verlassen eine Website, wenn sie lÀnger als als 3 Sekunden lÀdt.

Analyse und Beratung zu Google PageSpeed, Ladezeiten und Core Web Vitals.

Nutzen einer besonders kurzen Ladezeit

Hoher Online-Umsatz

Eine bekannte Studie hat ermittelt, dass eine um lediglich eine Sekunde langsamere Webseite einem RĂŒckgang in der Conversion-Rate von satten 7% entspricht. FĂŒr die erfolgreiche Lead-Generierung und fĂŒr Online-VerkĂ€ufe ist eine schnelle Website somit essentiell.

Top Google Rankings

Google hat bereits im Jahr 2010 offiziell bestÀtigt, dass der PageSpeed Score ein wichtiger Ranking-Faktor ist. Die Top rankenden Seiten haben hÀufig eine besonders kurze Serverantwortzeit. Seit Juni 2021 werden auch die Core Web Vitals im Google-Ranking bewertet.

Geringe Absprungrate​

Durch eine schnelle Ladezeit erzielt man eine geringe Absprungrate und zufriedene Nutzer, die wiederkehren und wiederholt kaufen. Mit einer umfassenden und effektiven Performance-Optimierung kann man die Absprungrate deutlich reduzieren.

Beste Nutzererfahrung

FĂŒr eine gute User Experience (UX) ist eine kurze Ladezeit eine wichtige Voraussetzung. UX-Signale werden von Google als wichtiger Ranking-Faktor gewertet. Aufgrund des stetig zunehmenden Nutzungsanteils von Smartphones in Mobilnetzen sollten so wenig Daten wie möglich ĂŒbertragen werden, um eine gute Performance zu gewĂ€hrleisten.

HĂ€ufige Ursachen schlechter Website-Performance

Externe Dienste

Tracking, Live-Chats, Einbindung externer Bewertungen, Google Maps Karten, CRM-Formulare und viele andere Third-Party Dienste sorgen oft dafĂŒr, dass Webseiten im laufenden Betrieb immer langsamer werden. Meist werden kontinuierlich neue Services eingebunden ohne dabei auf die Ladezeit, die UX und den Google PageSpeed Score der einzelnen Webseiten zu achten.

Unkomprimierte Medien

Insbesondere Bilder in alten und unkomprimierten Bildformaten, die ebenfalls nicht fĂŒr verschiedene Bildschirmauflösungen angepasst worden sind, stellen eine hĂ€ufige Ursache fĂŒr Performance-Probleme dar. Moderne Bildformate, wie WebP oder AVIF verbinden sehr hohe Kompressionsraten mit einer sehr guten BildqualitĂ€t.

Nicht optimierte Script-Ressourcen

JavaScript- und CSS-Dateien werden hĂ€ufig nicht komprimiert und zusammengefasst. Eine Menge Webseiten verfĂŒgen ĂŒber eine Vielzahl solcher Ressourcen. Durch die Kombination und Kompressionen solcher Dateien kann man die Requests hĂ€ufig enorm senken, was dann wiederum zu einer deutlich geringeren Gesamtladezeit und einer besser User Experience sorgt.

Alte PHP- und HTTP-Version

Insbesondere bei Internetseiten, die bereits seit vielen Jahren online sind sieht man hĂ€ufig, dass eine veraltete PHP Version (< PHP 8) oder ein altes HTTP-Protokoll (HTTP/1.1) verwendet werden. Durch ein Update dieser technischen Server-Infrastruktur kann eine deutliche Performance-Verbesserung fĂŒr die Seiten-Besucher erreicht werden.

Fehlendes oder schlecht konfiguriertes Website-Caching

Wenn alle Seiten einer Website immer erst beim Seitenaufruf durch den Nutzer dynamisch erzeugt werden, dann ist die Ladezeit wesentlich lĂ€nger, als wenn alle Seiten bereits fertig vorgeladen als statische HTML-Version auf dem Server vorliegen. Ein gut konfigurierter Cache sorgt fĂŒr eine geringe Serverantwortzeit (TTFB / Time To First Byte).

Fehlende Textkomprimierung

Textbasierte Ressourcen (z.B. Web-Dokumente) sollten komprimiert bereitgestellt werden, um die Gesamtanzahl der Bytes zu minimieren. Das ist hĂ€ufig nicht fĂŒr alle Ressourcen der Fall. Am leistungsfĂ€higsten ist Brotli. GZIP sollte als Fallback fĂŒr Brotli verwendet werden. GZIP wird von allen gĂ€ngigen Browsern unterstĂŒtzt. Die Textkomprimierung wird in der Konfiguration des Webservers aktiviert.

PageSpeed-Optimierung: Optimaler Prozess zur schnellen Website

01

Analyse

Umfassende Messung der Website-Ladezeiten, Ableitung und Priorisierung von Optimierungsmaßnahmen.

02

Spezifikation

Spezifikation der Maßnahmen und Einstellen von Tickets in das Ticketsystem fĂŒr die umsetzenden Entwickler.

03

Optimierung

Umsetzung der notwendigen Optimierungen durch die Entwickler und Abnahme der Implementierung.

04

Monitoring

Kontinuierliches Monitoring und Reporting der Ladezeit und falls nötig Nachoptimierung der Webseite.

Ladezeit-Optimierung: Professionelles Page Speed Consulting

Was durch kurze Ladezeiten erreicht wird

PageSpeed-Agentur kontaktieren

Ansprechpartner der PageSpeed-Agentur: PageSpeed Consultant Christian Schreiber
Christian Schreiber, Page Speed Consultant
Artikel zum Thema Website-Ladezeit

Der Einfluss von PageSpeed auf die Conversion-Rate

Optimierung von Google PageSpeed, Core Web Vitals und Ladezeiten fĂŒr eine höhere Conversionrate: Warum eine schnelle Ladezeit fĂŒr die Kundenbindung und Umsatzsteigerung unverzichtbar ist. Der

Performance-Verbesserung fĂŒr Cookie-Hinweise

Performance-Verbesserung fĂŒr Cookie-Hinweise

Die verpflichtenden Cookie-Hinweise wirken sich leider hÀufig negativ auf die Website-Performance und User Experience aus. Insbesondere ist dies in der Google PageSpeed Analyse ersichtlich. Allgemein

HÀufige Performance-Fragen verstÀndlich erlÀutert

Einen guten Mobile Score erzielt man ab einem Wert von 90/100.

Wie aufwÀndig die Optimierung der Ladezeiten auf einen solch guten Score ist hÀngt von vielen Faktoren ab, beispielsweise: Server-Hardware, Anzahl und Medien-Format der Seiten-Elemente (Texte, Bilder, Videos), Anzahl extern eingebundener Scripte und vielem mehr. Wesentlich wichtiger als die Optimierung des Scores sind die Core Web Vital Nutzerdaten aus dem Google CrUX-Dataset.

Der Google PageSpeed Score wird fĂ€lschlicherweise hĂ€ufiger mit der Ladezeit gleich gesetzt. Diese wird allerdings in Sekunden gemessen und muss bei der Performance-Optimierung ebenfalls BerĂŒcksichtigung finden. Ein hoher Google PageSpeed Score korreliert nicht unbedingt immer mit einer kurzen Ladezeit.

FĂŒr die Verbesserung von Website-Performance, Google PageSpeed Score und der Core Web Vitals gibt es viele Optimierungsmaßnamen, die alle sowohl auf kurze Ladezeiten, als auch auf eine bessere Benutzererfahrung mit der jeweiligen Webseite einzahlen.

Die folgende Auflistung stellt lediglich einen Auszug an Verbesserungspotenzialen dar:

  • Performantes Hosting
  • Komprimierung, Zusammenfassung und Auslagerung von JavaScript- und CSS-Code
  • Entfernung nicht verwendeter Scripte
  • Bereitstellung von Ressourcen (CSS, JS) fĂŒr versch. Seitentypen/Templates
  • Critical Path CSS fĂŒr den sofort sichtbaren Bereich der Seite bereitstellen
  • Render-Blocking JS und CSS eliminieren
  • HTML-Komprimierung aktivieren und HTML-Kommentare entfernen
  • HTML-DOM optimieren, tiefe Verschachtelung von Elementen vermeiden
  • Asynchrones Laden von JavaScript-Code (async / defer)
  • Nutzung des HTTP/2-Protokolls, um mehr Ressourcen parallel laden zu können
  • Website-Caching aktivieren
  • Browser-Caching nutzen
  • GZIP Komprimierung verwenden
  • Bilder komprimieren
  • Bild-Dimensionierung (Bereitstellung von Bilder ohne Skalierung)
  • Bild-GrĂ¶ĂŸenangaben fĂŒr alle Bilder setzen
  • WebP-Format fĂŒr Bilder und Fallback auf dem Server bereitstellen
  • Lazy Loading fĂŒr Bilder, Videos und Iframes
  • Video-Formate fĂŒr animierte Inhalte bereitstellen
  • Text-Sichtbarkeit wĂ€hrend des Ladevorgang
  • Passive Listener verwenden
  • Externe Scripte reduzieren
  • Nutzung von schneller Server-Hardware
  • Verwendung eines CDN (Content Delivery Networks) fĂŒr schnelle internationale VerfĂŒgbarkeit
 
Vor der Optimierung ist immer der Status Quo zu ermitteln. Dazu sollte ein Audit erstellt werden, aus dem dann die entsprechenden Todos abgeleitet werden. Eine umfassende Beratung durch eine spezialisierte PageSpeed Agentur fördert immer viele Potenziale zu Tage, die fĂŒr eine schnelle Webseite empfohlen werden.

Webseiten sollten in unter 3 Sekunden vollstĂ€ndig geladen sein, damit von einer guten Ladezeit die Rede sein kann. Wenn eine Seite mehr als 5 Sekunden lĂ€dt, dann fĂŒhrt dies zwangsweise zu einer erhöhten Abbruchrate (Bounce Rate) und auch zu einem schlechten Nutzererlebnis (User Experience). Dies resultiert dann in UmsatzeinbrĂŒchen und schlechten Lead-Raten.

Der Google PageSpeed Score ist kein Rankingfaktor, die Core Web Vitals (LCP, FID, CLS) schon. Google misst die Core Web Vitals (CWV) durch die Nutzer des Chrome Browsers. Diese von Google ermittelten Felddaten sind fĂŒr das SEO-Ranking wichtig. Die CWV der letzten 28 Tage fließen in die Page Experience als Rankingfaktor in die Google-Wertung mit ein. Neben den CWV sind auch die Mobilfreundlichkeit, Sicherheit und das richtige Handling von Dialogfeldern wichtig.

ZusĂ€tzlich steigert eine kurze Ladezeit die Nutzerzufriedenheit, sorgt fĂŒr mehr VerkĂ€ufe und weniger AbsprĂŒnge. Die Optimierung von Google PageSpeed, Web Vitals und Ladezeiten ist somit sowohl fĂŒr eine gute User Experience (UX) als auch fĂŒr die Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) ein sehr wichtiges Thema.

Am Anfang einer Beratung zur Ladezeiten-Optimierung steht immer ein initiales und unverbindliches ErstgesprÀch. Dadurch können beispielsweise die Projektziele, die Timeline zur Verbesserung der Geschwindigkeit, sowie die Rollen im Projekt geklÀrt werden.

Im nĂ€chsten Schritt folgt ein umfassendes Audit je Seiten-Template/Seitentyp, um alle Potenziale zur Beschleunigung der Seiten identifizieren zu können. Die Erkenntnisse aus dem Audit werden dann meistens dem technisch Verantwortlichen und dem Entwickler-Team vorgestellt. Durch den gemeinsamen Austausch können gleich erste Fragen zur Umsetzbarkeit der Maßnahmen geklĂ€rt werden.

Einige Verbesserungspotenziale benötigen eine Feinspezifikation. Diese fließt meist entweder in ein (SEO-)Konzept ein oder die Spezifikation erfolgt direkt innerhalb von Tickets zur agilen Umsetzung durch die Web-Entwickler. 

Im Ticket-System (hĂ€ufig Atlassian Jira, Redmine, o.Ä.) können dann vor oder wĂ€hrend der Umsetzung RĂŒckfragen von den Entwicklern gestellt werden. Ebenfalls kann der Web Performance Spezialist die erfolgreiche Umsetzung der einzelnen Tickets ĂŒber das System quittieren.

Damit sich die Performance nach der initialen Optimierung nicht wieder verschlechtert, empfiehlt es sich in jedem Fall ein Web Performance Monitoring System einzusetzen.

Eine Überwachung der Seiten-Leistung sollte mit einem Real User Monitoring (RUM) Tool erfolgen, da dadurch in Echtzeit einzelne Benutzer-Sessions aufgezeichnet werden können. Diese werden dann anonym in Sessions gespeichert, damit die datenschutzrechtlichen Belange eingehalten werden und Nutzer nicht zurĂŒckverfolgt werden können. Persönliche Daten werden bei dieser Art von Tracking nicht erhoben.

Google sammelt zur Bewertung der Ladegeschwindigkeit reale Nutzerdaten ĂŒber den Chrome Browser. Es werden die Metriken LCP (Largest Contentful Paint), FID (First Input Delay) und CLS (Cumulative Layout Shift) erfasst. Diese Daten werden allerdings aggregiert gespeichert, weshalb das einzelne Nutzererlebnis nicht mehr ausgewertet werden kann (beispielsweise ein einzelner Zugriff aus einem weit entfernten Land und einem mobilen Datennetz). 

Die Daten sind fĂŒr jeden öffentlich zugĂ€nglich, werden aber mit einer Verzögerung von 28 Tagen geliefert. Die Nutzererfahrungen sind beispielsweise im Felddaten-Bericht von Google PageSpeed Insights einsehbar, ĂŒber eine Google-API abrufbar und auch in der Google Search Console zu ersichtlich. Um diese Informationen fĂŒr die eigene Webseite abrufen zu können, braucht es eine gewisse Anzahl an Zugriffen. Andernfalls stehen entweder gar keine oder nur Daten fĂŒr den Domain-Ursprung (meist die Startseite) zur VerfĂŒgung.

Wenn man also in dem eigenen Monitoring lediglich auf den Chrome User Experience Report (CrUX) setzt, dann kann man erst sehr spÀt auf eine schlechte Nutzererfahrung reagieren. Dennoch sind die CrUX-Daten wichtig, da sie eine Auswirkung auf den Ranking-Erfolg haben.

Einzelabfragen und Auswertung der Labor-Daten (synthetische Messungen) von Google PageSpeed Insights stellen keine sinnvolle Überwachung der Ladezeit dar. Hierbei handelt es sich um Nutzersimulationen, weshalb diese Art der Messung fĂŒr Staging-Instanzen und wĂ€hrend der Optimierung der Ladezeiten sinnvoll ist, nicht aber im laufenden Betrieb.

New Client Special Offer
Aenean leo ligulaconsequat vitae, eleifend acer neque sed ipsum. Nam quam nunc, blandit vel, tempus.